MINUTES OF THE ORDINARY MEETING (HYBRID) OF WICKLOW COUNTY COUNCIL HELD ON MONDAY 19TH JUNE 2023, COMMENCING 2.00 PM IN THE COUNCIL CHAMBER AND VIA MICROSOFT TEAMS

PRESENT:

COUNCILLORS T. ANNESLEY CATHAOIRLEACH, J. BEHAN, V. BLAKE, S. BOURKE, M. CORRIGAN, A. CRONIN, S. CULLEN, E. DOYLE, G. DUNNE, A. FERRIS, P. FITZGERALD, A. FLYNN KENNEDY, T. FORTUNE, P. GLENNON, M. KAVANAGH, P. KENNEDY, P. LEONARD, D. MITCHELL, J. MULLEN, M. MURPHY, D. O'BRIEN, P. O'BRIEN, R. O'CONNOR, G. O'NEILL, J. SNELL, S. STOKES, E. TIMMINS, G. WALSH AND I. WINTERS (29)

APOLOGIES

CLLRS. M. BARRY, G. MCMANUS AND L. SCOTT (3)

IN ATTENDANCE:

- MS. E. O'GORMAN, CHIEF EXECUTIVE
- MS. L. GALLAGHER, DIRECTOR OF SERVICES
- MS. B. KILKENNY, DIRECTOR OF SERVICES
- MR. M. NICHOLSON, DIRECTOR OF SERVICES
- MS. L. EARLS, DIRECTOR OF SERVICES
- MR. B. GLEESON, HEAD OF FINANCE
- MS. H. PURCELL, SENIOR EXECUTIVE OFFICER/MEETINGS ADMINISTRATOR
- MS. T. O'BRIEN, SENIOR EXECUTIVE OFFICER
- MS. C. FLOOD, SENIOR EXECUTIVE OFFICER
- MS. J. CARROLL, SENIOR EXECUTIVE OFFICER
- MR. T. WALSH, SENIOR EXECUTIVE PLANNER
- MS. E. O'DONOVAN, HEAD OF INFORMATION SYSTEMS
- MR. R. NETO, TECHNICIAN GRADE 1
- MS. K. BOYLE, ADMINISTRATIVE OFFICER
- MR. G. MURPHY, IS TECHNICAL SUPPORT OFFICER
- MS. T. BYRNE, ASSISTANT STAFF OFFICER
- MS. C. HENDRICK, CLERICAL OFFICER

At the commencement of the meeting a roll call was taken. The Meetings Administrator advised of meetings etiquette for online meetings and that the press and some members of the public were also present.

ITEM NO. 1

Election of the Cathaoirleach (Section 36 of the Local Government Act 2001, as amended)

Prior to calling for nominations for the position of the Cathaoirleach, Cllr. T. Annesley, outgoing Cathaoirleach, said it had been a turbulent year but with many highlights. Looking back over the year Cllr. Annesley highlighted a number of achievements and events which he attended, including:

- Visit from Minister of State, Peter Burke
- Lego building in Glendalough
- Wicklow Skills Event
- Official opening Beyond the Trees, Avondale
- Freedom of the County Charlie Bird
- Ministerial Age Friendly Launch Beyond the Trees, Avondale.
- Lifetime achievement award John Boorman
- Centenary of An Garda Siochana
- Hidden Disabilities
- Launch of National Women's Council Family Friendly Toolkit
- Long service Awards

He welcomed the new Chief Executive Ms. E. O'Gorman and thanked her, the Elected Members and the staff of Wicklow County Council for their help support and guidance ensuring every aspect of the year ran smoothly. He also thanked Cllr. A. Flynn-Kennedy, Leas-Cathaoirleach for her support throughout the year.

The Elected Members and the Chief Executive paid tribute to Cllr. T. Annesley on the exceptional manner in which he carried out his duties as Cathaoirleach. It was acknowledged that meetings were carried out in a fair manner and that he was always fair, open and approachable.

The Chief Executive and the Elected Members wished him well for the future.

Cllr. T. Annesley called for nominations for the position of Cathaoirleach for the forthcoming year.

1. Cllr. I. Winters proposed Cllr. A. Flynn-Kennedy, which was seconded by Cllr. G. Dunne.

As there were no other nominations, Cllr. A. Flynn-Kennedy was unanimously elected as Cathaoirleach of Wicklow County Council.

Before calling for nominations for Leas-Cathaoirleach, the newly elected Cathaoirleach addressed the Council.

She paid tribute to Cllr. Annesley for all his work over the past year. It had been a difficult year for Cllr. Annesley personally and he has shown his commitment to the role and to the county. In the coming year she said she would endeavour to make sure the Elected Members are supported in their role and have the opportunity to raise issues that are important to them and their community. She said she was looking forward to the year

ahead, and hoped that we can all work together with the Officials to ensure that Wicklow as a county continues to achieve all it deserves.

The Chief Executive and Elected Members joined together in congratulating Cllr. A. Flynn-Kennedy on her election.

ITEM NO. 2

Election of the Leas-Cathaoirleach

The Cathaoirleach called for nominations for the position of Leas-Cathaoirleach.

- 1. Cllr. P. Kennedy proposed Cllr. G. Dunne, which was seconded by Cllr. A. Flynn-Kennedy.
- 2. Cllr. G. O'Neill proposed Cllr. J. Snell which was seconded by Cllr. J. Behan.

Following a lengthy discussion on the filling of positions of Cathaoirleach and Leas Cathaoirleach, Cllr. J. Snell thanked Cllrs. G. O'Neill and J. Behan for nominating him, however, he rejected the nomination to be considered as a candidate.

As there were no other nominations, Cllr. G. Dunne was unanimously elected as Leas-Cathaoirleach of Wicklow County Council.

ITEM NO. 3

To agree schedule of Ordinary/Special meetings for the coming year

It was proposed by Cllr. J. Snell, seconded by Cllr. V. Blake and agreed to the schedule of Ordinary/Special meetings for the coming year, as circulated.

THIS CONCLUDED THE BUSINESS OF THE MEETING

CLLR. AOIFE FLYNN-KENNEDY CATHAOIRLEACH WICKLOW COUNTY COUNCIL MS. HELEN PURCELL
SENIOR EXECUTIVE OFFICER/
MEETINGS ADMINISTRATOR

Confirmed at meeting of Wicklow County Council held on Monday the 3rd July 2023